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Your 4-Week Live Class Schedule

The 60-90 minute live classes will take place twice a week at 9 a.m. Pacific / 12 p.m. Eastern. This time works well for folks in Europe as well.

Those who attend live will have the opportunity to take part in Q&A. (Sorry, Asia-Pacific friends, but you’ll still have full access to all of the recordings.)

Class 1: Ecommerce Growth Overview

There are only 3 ways to grow an ecommerce company: (1) increase the number of customers, (2) increase the average order value (AOV), or (3) increase the average number of purchases per customer.

The beauty of these is that they multiply. A mere 30% increase in each of the three levers, more than possible in a year, doubles the company. 1.3 x 1.3 x 1.3 = 220%.

Topics covered:

  • Case study: Karmaloop
  • How to find your F, AOV, and C
  • The math for your retailer
  • The idea of a customer lifecycle
  • Overview of the rest of the course

Class 2: Creating Repeat Buyers

Bill Bain said “your best new customers are your current customers”. Here’s why the best way to grow in 2017 is to spend more on retention . . . and how.

Topics covered:

  • Why retention
  • The customer lifecycle: common retention tactics
  • Biggest opportunity: converting 1 time buyers to 2 time buyers
  • Deep dive: email-based re-order campaign

Class 3: Common AOV Best Practices

Vista Capital buys companies and executes a set menu to increase their AOV. Let’s steal it. You’ll learn about free shipping, bundling and more.

Topics covered:

  • Increasing prices: why and how
  • Increasing quantities: why and how
  • Using free shipping as a lever
  • Bundling
  • Advanced tactics

Class 4: Cross-Selling and Upselling

Amazon attributes 35% of its revenue to cross-selling and upselling. Here’s when, where and how they do it so successfully.

Topics covered:

  • Cross-selling – when/where/how
  • Upselling – when/where/how
  • Deep dive: increasing same-day AOV with an email bounce-back campaign

Class 5: Conversion Rate Optimization, Part 1

What works in ecommerce isn’t traditional conversion rate optimization… it’s stacking campaigns to create a better mousetrap. You’ll start this 2-part lesson by learning the foundational concepts.

Topics covered:

  • Database marketing 101: discount ladders and tripwires
  • The Conversion Mousetrap (on-site, email)

Class 6: Conversion Rate Optimization, Part 2

Take an even deeper dive into ecommerce conversion rate optimization concepts, including more on: discount ladders, tripwires, on-site messaging, Facebook campaigns and more.

Topics covered:

  • Database marketing 101: discount ladders and tripwires
  • The Conversion Mousetrap (on-site messaging, FB campaigns)

Class 7: Acquisition Strategies

This weeks focus is a theoretical focus on Acquisition strategies, before delving into channels in the final class

Class 8: Acquisition Tactics

Master the two main channels that drive all of Shopify’s biggest stores. This week’s focus is on Facebook and instagram funnels. How to use and systematize it, example ads and funnels, etc.

Topics covered:

  • How to use (and systematize) your Facebook and insta campaigns
  • Example ads and funnels
  • Case study: Boom (with Ezra)

You’ll also get access to 10 pre-recorded ecommerce growth videos right away

In addition to the live classes, you’ll get immediate access to snack-size video lessons on the fundamentals of ecommerce growth as soon as you enroll. That way, you’re prepared to dive deep into the course content with Drew. Here’s what you’ll learn right away:

1. The Math of Doubling Your Business in a Year

2. Karmaloop Story- from Bankruptcy to Exit in 1 Year

3. Design Public Story – $0 to $1m in <1 Year

4. FanPrint Story- Acquisition Gone Wild

5. What’s Working on Acquisition: FB + Insta

6. CRO for Ecommerce Is Not A/B Testing

7. The Customer Lifecycle: Right Offer Right Customer Right Time. Made Possible by Email.

8. 1⁄3 of Amazon’s Revenue Comes from Cross-Selling and Upselling

9. The Vista Playbook

10. 80/20 in Customer Data

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